“Incredible Italian”

☆☆☆☆ Reviewed July 31, 2016

The menu is so diverse there’s no way you can’t be satisfied. The wine selection is just as diverse and you can pair it with any dish that is just tantalizing to the palate.

Visited June 2016

Christiansted, St. Croix

“Outstanding Italian Food!”

☆☆☆☆☆ Reviewed April 21, 2016

My wife and I ate here recently, near the end of a 2-week trip to St. Croix, and wished we’d tried it sooner (so we could go back several times during our stay)!

The restaurant was celebrating their 25th anniversary, and as such, had a special (3 course I believe it was) menu you could opt to choose from, which we did. We had different items so we could sample off each others plates. I had the Mozzarella En Carrozza for my appetizer, Chicken Parmigiana (main course) and olive oil cake for desert. My wife had Eggplant Rollitini (appetizer), Fettuccini with meatballs (main) and a Cannoli for desert.

My wife is half Italian (her mom spent her childhood growing up in Italy), so we eat a lot of home made Italian food, and we went to tour of all the main cities in Italy for our honeymoon and ate a lot of great food in Italy. So I’d like to think we know Italian food pretty well.

Our hats are off to the chef… this was some of the best Italian food we’ve ever had! Every single dish was wonderful! My wife even commented saying she’d never tasted meatballs made exactly like her mom used to from anywhere else before now. (Now as someone who grew up on more American food myself, even Americanized Italian food, the meatball look huge to me, but she insisted that’s the way the real Italian immigrants made them back when she was a child.) I’d never had Chicken Parm so good myself, in fact I rarely get it because most places (or people) are not as good as they think they are at making it… the chef here does, and makes it very well! Her cannoli was soft and creamy (not hard crispy like some make them)… she let me have a bite… best cannoli I’ve ever had. I’ve had store bought ones, and wondered why people think they were so good…. now I finally get it, this one was awesome! The olive oil cake was wonderful as well, just the right amounts of flavors, moist… I was full when desert was served, but I made room!

I saw another reviewer noted they only saw 2 servers. I think that’s how many they had when we went as well, but it was not very busy, 2 was more than enough… our server (a German born American, her name escapes me) was superb! We got there when they first opened (6pm), so we were the first to be seated, along with another couple… the view of the ocean and Buck Island from atop the hill were excellent as well.

The only negative of the entire experience (which was not within the control of the restaurant) were that the mosquitos came out about half way into the meal (it’s all outdoor/covered seating). They had plenty of Off spray for us to use (we just had to step outside the dining area to apply it, not a problem). We really hadn’t had a problem with them for most of the 2 weeks we were on island, but earlier that day it had rained (a bit more than just a quick shower) and the breezes had died down… humid and calm air, led to mosquitos coming out in drives. But again, not anything the restaurant can control (short of converting to an indoor restaurant, which is not where you usually want to eat in paradise).

Oh, and it was a bit pricey my mainland standards, but on par with island prices. Since this was near the end of our trip, we’d mostly gotten over our food sticker shock… everywhere to eat on the island (short of maybe chain restaurants like McD’s, Subway, etc.) was pretty pricey. You just have to expect that on an island.

Kudos to the chef and his wonderful team… next vacation to St. Croix, we WILL be going here more often!

Visited April 2016

Dale S
Morristown, Tennessee

“Very good italian food.”

☆☆☆☆ Reviewed April 3, 2016

We ate dinner here one of our 10 nights on the island. The food was very good but the service was a bit lacking. There seemed to only be 2 wait staff for the entire place so service was a bit slow, but overall our experience at this restaurant was very good and we would return on our next trip to the island. The food was very good.

Visited March 2016

Bruce R

“Great Pasta and Service”

☆☆☆☆☆ Reviewed March 31, 2016

Pasta is always great. It rained during our visit under the open air top. The staff quickly moved everyone to the drier areas and we all had a great time.

Visited March 2016

Wilmington, North Carolina

“25 Years and still goin strong”

☆☆☆☆ Reviewed March 24, 2016

The restaurant is in a pleasant setting run by an owner chef. The restaurant is celebrating its 25th anniversary, so it has some staying power. The fresh catch of the day prepared Pelicano style was very tasty. Save some room for the homemade desserts, especially the Tiramisu..

This is a nice dining experience in an area where the choices are limited.

Visited March 2016

New York City, New York

 

“Italian night”

☆☆☆ Reviewed March 14, 2016

This is a decent restaurant in a condo complex. Full bar, decent food. We went on a buy one entree, get one free night, so that kept the cost fairly reasonable.

Visited February 2016

“Delicious food!”

☆☆☆☆☆ Reviewed February 21, 2016

We spent one week in St Croix and two nights at this restaurant for dinner! It was delicious especially the crab stuffed wahoo! It has a very nice atmosphere and our waitress was very polite!

Visited January 2016

“Best Italian on the island by far”

☆☆☆☆ Reviewed February 21, 2016

Great Italian food and specials. They have a 3 course for $25. Very good Italian food and good wine list. The chef has been at it for 25 years. Great views of buck island from the dining area.

Visited February 2016